My Garden

Here I look out over the garden

We once swore to grow

 

You wanted sunflowers taller than the fencing

I wanted ripe tomatoes for friends like my grandad used to sew

 

I always kept the seeds and hoe in the garage in case you ever wanted to try again

 

Four hours I toiled in the dirt digging alone in my stand

Kept the weeds out, cleaned the fence line, and turned the soil by hand

 

I would work to the bone for this

 

At times I planted in the wrong season

At times I didn’t ask what flower and for what reason

 

At times I pissed drunk into the orchids

 

For a long time, I wanted to forget the task

Abandon the thought and sail a new mast

 

Give up

 

You told me you could grow it alone

This garden is an ill-trimmed and desolate; a lawn

 

It was never meant for both our hands

 

I will always have the seeds

I still clean the hoe

 

I can replant anywhere, out of any toil, I can grow

Leave a Reply

