Happy Birthday

I never liked birthdays before you showed me how fun they are

But as the years went by and we both got older

They again lost their luster

 

This year I saw my day as one I could be happy

I have more than just you to make them fun and feel loved

You made sure I knew that isn’t true

 

You went out of your way to make sure that I

and everyone else knew

There is nowhere for me to feel that way

 

“What do you want this year?”

“Nothing but your presence”

and now that is gone too

Leave a Reply

